Coyote

COYOTE

Canis latrans

Back
Download the form

DESCRIPTION

Take a close look at me or you might be fooled. I’m smaller than my cousin, the wolf, and my ears are pointier. When I run, I keep my tail down, whereas the wolf keeps his proudly raised. I can be recognized by my paw prints, which are smaller than those of my cousin. My prints, by the way, are often the only trace you’ll see of me. My coat provides excellent camouflage and I am quite discreet. You must pay close attention if you expect to spot me. Unlike wolves who tend to live in packs, I am more the solitary type.

If I am the product of a cross between a coyote and a wolf, it would be most difficult to correctly identify me by sight alone. I can also mate with a dog. Keep in mind that all three of us are from the same genus, Canis, which makes cross-breeding possible, albeit rare I admit. In order to know for sure, biologists often rely on genetic analysis.

I am a generalist and as one who adapts easily in my choice of habitats, my distribution is spreading further and further. I am being forced to live closer to urbanized areas that are encroaching on my territory. I can even be found right here on the Island of Montreal.

Location

Coyote

Caracteristics

dimension

Total Length 114 - 141 cm
Tail Length 27,5 - 39,5 cm
Weight 9 - 23 kg

Lifespan

Record of 14 years in the wild and 21 years in captivity

Habitat

Agricultural and forested areas

Diet

Hares, groundhogs, voles, mice, white-tailed deer, birds, fruits, nuts, grains, carrion

Reproduction

1 brood per year; 1 to 8 young (average 5 to 6)

Meet other animals

All animals

Close

Coyote

COYOTE

Canis latrans

Retour
Télécharger la fiche

DESCRIPTION

Regarde-moi bien. C’est à s’y méprendre, mais je suis plus petit que mon cousin le loup et mes oreilles sont plus pointues. Lorsque je cours, je porte ma queue plutôt basse, alors que lui la maintien fièrement très élevée. On peut même me reconnaître aux empreintes que je laisse au sol, qui sont plus petites que celles du loup. Mes empreintes sont d’ailleurs souvent tout ce que tu verras de moi. Mon pelage me fournit un excellent camouflage et je suis discret. Il faut être attentif pour m’observer! Contrairement au loup qui préfère vivre en meute, je suis pour ma part plutôt solitaire.

Par contre, si je suis issu du croisement entre un coyote et un loup, il te sera très difficile de m’identifier correctement à la vue. Je peux aussi m’accoupler avec un chien. Souviens-toi que, nous sommes tous les trois des animaux du même genre, Canis, ce qui rend la chose possible mais peu courante je l’avoue. Pour en avoir le cœur net, les biologistes ont recours à des analyses génétiques.

Étant tout de même généraliste et adaptable dans mon choix d’habitat, ma répartition s’étend de plus en plus et on me force à me rapprocher de l’urbanisation qui gruge mon territoire. Je suis même présent sur l’île de Montréal.

Localisation

Coyote

Caractéristiques

dimension

Longueur totale114 - 141 cm
Longueur de la queue 27,5 - 39,5 cm
Poids 9 - 23 kg

Longévité

Record de 14 ans à l’état sauvage et de 21 ans en captivité

Habitat

Milieux agro forestiers

Nourriture

Lièvres, marmottes, campagnols, souris, cerfs de Virginie, oiseaux, fruits, noix, graines, charogne

Reproduction

1 portée par an ; 1 à 8 petits (moyenne 5 à 6)

Rencontrez d'autres espèces

Tous les animaux

Fermer