Faq

INFO
FAQ

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS!

Here are the answers to the questions most frequently asked by our visitors.

I FOUND AN INJURED ANIMAL, CAN I BRING IT TO THE ECOMUSEUM ZOO?

We cannot take in injured, lost, or young orphaned wild animals. They must first be evaluated and treated at an accredited rehabilitation center that possesses the appropriate permits. The Ecomuseum Zoo is a haven for those who cannot be released by these rehabilitation centers. It is important to emphasize that it is illegal for you to undertake such a as rehabilitation without the appropriate governmental permits.

IS THE ECOMUSEUM ZOO SUBSIDIZED?

The Ecomuseum Zoo does not benefit from governmental support to finance its operations. Only one-time funding programs occasionally apply to specific development projects. Annual zoo operations are funded from revenues generated from admissions, educational activities, Zootique sales, revenues generated when we are consulted for our scientific expertise as well as income from private donations.

CAN I BRING MY DOG/PET TO THE ECOMUSEUM ZOO?

Unfortunately the presence of dogs and other pets is unauthorized at the zoo due to the inherent nature of the organization and of the safety requirements of its animal residents.

MY GUIDE-DOG/ASSISTANCE-ANIMAL TRAVELS WITH ME AT ALL TIMES. WILL IT BE ADMITTED TO THE ZOO?

Unfortunately the presence of guide dogs and other assistance animals is unauthorized at the zoo due to the inherent nature of the organization and of the safety requirements of its animal residents. The Ecomuseum Zoo can however arrange for you to be accompanied by one of our docent volunteers at no extra cost to facilitate your visit and ensure a pleasant experience. Please contact our administrative services department at least 24 hours before your planned visit at 514 457-9449 to make arrangements.

IS THE ECOMUSEUM ZOO WHEELCHAIR ACCESSIBLE?

A vast majority of the site is wheelchair accessible. Only our indoor "From Light to Dark" exhibit is not accessible. Please call ahead for further details on wheelchair accessibility. Our administrative services department can be reached at 514 457-9449 ext.0.

WHERE DO THE ECOMUSEUM ZOO ANIMALS COME FROM?

The animals that reside at the Ecomuseum Zoo are all animals that could not survive in their natural environment. Most of our animals are here because they have injuries that would prevent them from surviving in the wild (i.e. they are unable to escape a predator or to eat on their own). All our animals come from accredited rehabilitation centers and zoological institutions. The Ecomuseum Zoo is also a refuge for orphaned wildlife and other wild animals born under human care. In these cases the animals have not acquired the knowledge or learned the behaviours necessary for their survival in the wild, so we offer them protection against predators, food, care and lots of love!

MUST WE PAY FOR PARKING?

We provide free parking to all our guests.

HOW DO I GET TO THE ZOO USING PUBLIC TRANSIT?

Visit the Société de transport de Montréal website at www.stm.info for information on how to get to the Ecomuseum Zoo using public transit.

HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE TO VISIT THE ZOO?

Naturally the length of your visit will depend on the time you will spend at each habitat. On average however a visit will last two hours; one and a half hours outdoors and another thirty minutes indoors. The length of your stay may be longer should you choose to pause for lunch or a snack.

IS THE TOUR GUIDED?

Although the general visit is not guided, descriptive signs are placed at every habitat. These educational signs will allow you to learn of many interesting and amusing facts about our animals. If you are interested in making a reservation for a guided tour please contact us.

IS THE VISIT INDOORS OR OUTDOORS?

The majority of the time spent at the Ecomuseum Zoo is spent outdoors. It is therefore very important that guest dress appropriately for each season. It is possible that you will be visiting our outdoor habitats for a period exceeding two hours.

MAY WE FEED THE ANIMALS?

It is unfortunately forbidden to feed the animals who reside at the Ecomuseum Zoo. Their food requirements and diets are closely monitored and each meal is carefully measured for the animal’s health and well-being. We thank you for respecting this nutritional balance.

CAN WE BRING A STROLLER/SLED ON THE PATHWAYS?

Although the majority of the pathways are stroller/sled accessible, the indoor “From Light to Dark” exhibit can only be accessed via a stairway (1 level).

IS THERE A RESTAURANT ON SITE?

A few vending machines are available on site for snacks and beverages but it is preferable that you pack a lunch if you require a full meal. A microwave is at your disposal should you wish to warm your favourite foods. You may enjoy our newly renovated outdoor picnic area or our indoor lunch room.

IS THERE A MICROWAVE AVAILABLE TO REHEAT A BOTTLE?

Yes, our lunch room is equipped with a microwave that you may use to reheat your favourite meal or beverage.

DOES THE ZOO HAVE A PRIVACY POLICY?

Yes, you can consult it here. (English version coming soon)

Faq

INFO
FAQ

LES QUESTIONS LES PLUS FRÉQUENTES

Voici des réponses aux questions les plus fréquemment posées par nos visiteurs.

J’AI TROUVÉ UN ANIMAL BLESSÉ, PUIS-JE ALLER LE PORTER AU ZOO ECOMUSEUM?

Nous ne pouvons pas recueillir les animaux sauvages blessés, perdus, ou encore les jeunes animaux orphelins. Ils doivent d’abord être évalués puis soignés dans un centre de réhabilitation accrédité possédant les permis nécessaire. Le Zoo Ecomuseum est un foyer pour ceux qui ne pourront pas être remis en liberté par les centres de réhabilitation. Il est important de souligner qu’il est illégal pour vous d’entreprendre une telle réhabilitation sans permis des instances gouvernementales appropriées.

EST-CE QUE LE ZOO ECOMUSEUM EST SUBVENTIONNÉ?

Le Zoo Ecomuseum ne bénéficie pas de soutien gouvernemental pour le financement de ses opérations. Seuls des programmes de financement ponctuels s’appliquent occasionnellement dans le cadre d’activités spécifiques de développement. Les opérations annuelles du zoo sont financées à même les revenus générés par la billetterie, les participations aux activités éducatives, les ventes à la Zootique, les revenus d’expertises scientifiques, ainsi que les revenus provenant de dons privés.

EST-CE QUE JE PEUX AMENER MON CHIEN OU MON ANIMAL DE COMPAGNIE AU ZOO ECOMUSEUM?

Malheureusement la présence d’animaux de compagnie n’est pas autorisée au zoo en raison de la nature même de l’entreprise et des exigences de sécurité des animaux résidants au zoo.

J’AI BESOIN DE MON CHIEN-GUIDE/ANIMAL D’ASSISTANCE DANS TOUS MES DÉPLACEMENTS.
EST-CE QU’IL SERA ADMIS AU ZOO ECOMUSEUM?

Malheureusement, la présence de chiens-guides et d'autres animaux d'assistance n'est pas autorisée au zoo en raison de la nature même de l'entreprise et des exigences de sécurité des animaux résidant au zoo. Le zoo Ecomuseum peut cependant mettre à votre disposition les services d’un guide-naturaliste bénévole pour vous accompagner sans frais supplémentaire afin de faciliter votre visite et pour assurer une expérience agréable. Nous vous prions de communiquer avec notre département des services administratifs au moins 24 heures avant la visite prévue au 514-457-9449.

EST-CE QUE JE PEUX VISITER LE ZOO ECOMUSEUM EN FAUTEUIL ROULANT?

Une grande majorité du site est accessible en fauteuil roulant. Seules nos expositions intérieures dans la section «Du jour à la nuit » ne sont pas accessibles. Nous vous prions de communiquer avec notre département des services administratifs au 514-457-9449 pour plus de détails sur l'accessibilité en fauteuil roulant.

D’OÙ PROVIENNENT LES ANIMAUX DU ZOO ECOMUSEUM?

Les animaux qui résident au Zoo Ecomuseum sont tous des animaux qui ne pourraient pas survivre dans leur milieu naturel. La plupart de nos animaux sont ici parce qu’ils ont des blessures ne leur permettant plus de survivre à l’état sauvage (exemple : incapable de fuir un prédateur ou de se nourrir seul). Tous proviennent de centres de réhabilitation et d’institutions zoologiques accrédités. Le Zoo Ecomuseum est également un foyer pour certains animaux sauvages orphelins et d’autres qui sont nés en captivité. Dans ces deux derniers cas les animaux n’ont pas acquit les connaissances et comportements nécessaire à leur survie en milieu naturel, nous leurs offrons donc une protection contre les prédateurs, de la nourriture, des soins et de l’amour!

EST-CE QUE LE STATIONNEMENT EST GRATUIT?

Notre stationnement est gratuit pour tous nos visiteurs.

COMMENT FAIT-ON POUR VENIR EN TRANSPORT EN COMMUN?

Vous pouvez obtenir les informations pour vous rendre au Zoo Ecomuseum en transport en commun en visitant le site web de la Société de transport de Montréal au www.stm.info.

ÇA PREND COMBIEN DE TEMPS POUR FAIRE LA VISITE?

Naturellement la durée de votre visite dépendra du temps que vous passerez à chaque habitat. En moyenne cependant la visite prend deux heures; environ une heure trente minutes à l’extérieur et un autre 30 minutes à l’intérieur. La durée de votre visite sera plus longue si vous choisissez de prendre une pause pour le dîner ou une collation.

EST-CE QUE C’EST UNE VISITE GUIDÉE?

La visite générale du zoo n’est pas guidée, par contre nous avons des affiches éducatives à chaque habitat. Elles sont amusantes et vous permettront d’apprendre plusieurs faits intéressants sur nos animaux. Si vous êtes toujours intéressé par une visite guidée, contactez-nous pour plus de renseignements.

EST-CE QUE LA VISITE SE FAIT À L’EXTÉRIEUR OU À L’INTÉRIEUR?

La majorité de la visite se passe à l’extérieur, il est donc important d’être vêtu adéquatement selon les saisons. Il est à noter qu’il est possible que vous soyez à l’extérieur pour une période excédant deux heures.

EST-CE QU’ON PEUT NOURRIR LES ANIMAUX?

Il est malheureusement interdit de nourrir les animaux qui résident au Zoo Ecomuseum. Les régimes alimentaires de ces derniers sont étroitement suivis et chaque repas est mesuré pour la santé et le bien-être de l’animal. Nous vous remercions de respecter cet équilibre.

EST-CE NOUS POUVONS APPORTER UNE POUSSETTE/UN TRAÎNEAU SUR LES SENTIERS?

La majorité des sentiers sont accessibles avec une poussette. Nous devons noter que l’exposition « Du jour à la nuit » est accessible seulement par des escaliers (1 niveau).

EST-CE QU’IL Y A UN RESTAURANT SUR PLACE?

Quelques machines distributrices sont disponibles sur place pour des grignotines et des breuvages, mais il est préférable d’apporter votre dîner si vous cherchez un repas complet. Un micro-ondes est à votre disposition pour réchauffer vos aliments préférés. Vous pourrez profiter de notre aire de pique-nique fraîchement rénovée ou de notre salle à manger intérieure.

EST-CE QUE VOUS AVEZ UN MICRO-ONDES SUR PLACE POUR RÉCHAUFFER UN BIBERON?

Oui, notre salle à manger intérieure est munie d’un micro-ondes dont vous pourrez vous servir pour réchauffer vos aliments ou breuvages préférés.

LE ZOO A-T-IL UNE POLITIQUE DE PROTECTION DE LA VIE PRIVÉE?

Oui, vous pouvez la consulter en cliquant sur le lien suivant.